Skip to main content

Kentucky Chapters


Mrs. Henrietta Morgan Duke

Founded the Albert Sydney Johnston Chapter of the United Daughters of the Confederacy along with Miss Henrietta Preston Johnston, the daughter of the late General Albert Sydney Johnston. Duke became the first president of the chapter and held the vice-president position at the national level. Her husband was Confederate General Basil W. Duke and she was sister to Confederate General John H. Morgan. 


Twenty chapters formed within the first year of founding the United Daughters of the Confederacy in 1894. Charters for Kentucky chapters started soon after. Some of the chapters included the Lexington Chapter (constitution adopted 1897), Albert Sydney Johnston Chapter- Louisville (constitution adopted 1898), and Confederate Home Chapter- Pewee Valley (charter signed 1904). The Kentucky chapters thrived in the earlier twentieth century. The directory from 1903 to 1904 listed over three hundred and fifty women as members of the Louisville Albert Sydney Johnston Chapter. Prominent women of the Kentucky communities banded together in chapters to grow the Confederate memory and celebrated Southern culture.